What level am I studying at ?

Courses are often described by levels e.g.Level 2 Food Safety, Level 3 Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector, Level 4 Advanced Food Safety but what do these levels mean ? Well to help explain here are some pointers.

Level 1 candidates will be able to :         **** few courses are run at this very basic level ****
Employ a narrow range of applied knowledge and basic comprehension
Demonstrate a narrow range of skills
Apply known solutions familiar problems
Present and record information from readily available sources

Level 2 candidates need to gain :
– good knowledge and understanding of a subject
– ability to perform variety of tasks with some guidance or supervision
– appropriate for many job roles

Level 3 candidates need to be able to :
– apply a range of knowledge, skills and understanding, at a detailed level
– work independently, or (in some cases) supervise and train others in their field of work

Level 4 involves :
– specialist learning, involving detailed analysis of a high level of information and knowledge in an area of work or study
– appropriate for people working in technical and professional jobs, and/or managing and developing others

These levels are all set out in The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which has been produced by the QCA (Qualifications and Curriculum authority)

Comments are closed.