Assessor Training Courses and Qualifications


These qualifications are for people who are working or wanting to work as assessors. (see our article “What’s the difference between assessing and teaching ?”)

They are part of the assessor suite of qualifications which have replaced the previous Assessor qualifications (then known as the A1 and A2 awards).

These new qualifications also provide people who carry out assessment in their organisations with the opportunity to develop and improve their assessment skills and practice as well as achieving a professional qualification for the role.

These qualification are for those working in :

  • accredited learning – carrying out assessments which lead to a qualification
  • non-accredited learning – carrying out assessments which do not lead to a qualification
  • workplace assessments – carrying out assessments in the workplace

There are three qualifications you could take to become a qualified assessor, and they are made up of combinations of different units.

Here’s how to work out which qualification you need:

Have a look at the table below and you will see which of the three units are involved in each of these qualifications.  

  Units Involved
Understanding the principles and practice of assessment Assess vocational
skills, knowledge and understanding
Assess occupational competence in the work environment
Level 3 in Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement checked checked checked
Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment (QCF) checked   checked
Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (QCF) checked checked  


Approved by:

This qualification is recognised by Ofqual


Secure Payment