What does this course cover?

This combined course covers both the Level 3 CAVA Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement and the Level 4 IQA Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice in one course.

The Level 4 IQA qualification replaces the V1 and V2 qualifications and is the most up to date IQA qualification available. The Level 3 CAVA qualification replaces the previous A1 and A2 assessor awards and is the most up to date assessor qualification on the market.

What will I get on completion of this CAVA/IQA course?

If you complete this course online or in-house with Carlton Training, you will be achieve the Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (CAVA) and the Level 4 IQA Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice qualification. Both of these qualifications are nationally recognised and awarded to you by City and Guilds.

With these qualifications, you have proof that you are both an assessor and an IQA – with expertise in both areas.

Remember that the CAVA qualification gives you the skillset to complete the following:

Assessments in the Workplace

Assessments in the Classroom or Learning Environment

The IQA qualification give you the skillset to carry out:

Internal Quality Assurance at both at your workplace and on courses

Sampling and reporting on assessments carried out by other people.

Getting these two qualifications opens doors to new and more advanced employment opportunities within the lifelong teaching sector and in private industry. Through taking this course you will be confident in showcasing your skills, knowledge and ability to assess people as well as quality assure assessments carried out by others.

If you’re unsure on whether to take this combined course online or in-house, rest assured that you will receive the same qualifications ether way.

What can I do with these qualifications?

By taking our combined CAVA and IQA course you will earn twos useful qualification needed to start up and run your own training centre or improve training and assessing at your current place of employment.

Holding these qualifications is often a requirement if you want to be approved by an Awarding Body to offer their courses and qualifications to your learners.

Who is this course for?

If you currently work in or are looking to work in a role that requires any sort of assessment and quality assurance, then this course is perfect for you.

CAVA and IQA Course In-House

At Carlton Training, we also provide our Level 4 IQA course as a cost-effective 5-day onsite course for a group at your workplace. Our on-site group training offers flexibility, with dates and times available to suit your organisation. This allows you the freedom to choose when and where the course takes place and our expert tutors will visit you to train your group.

Should I take the combined CAVA and IQA course online or in-house?

Whether to take the course online or in-house is entirely up to you. Some students find it more flexible to take their course online and fit it around their schedule, whereas others prefer to take it in-house at their workplace.

The team at Carlton Training will support you with whichever option you choose for your course.

What are the entry requirements?

For the Level 3 CAVA element you’ll need to conduct assessments in your workplace and learning environments. This could be in your workplace, a voluntary group or a community setting.

For the Level 4 IQA part of the course, you will need access to assessors (they don’t have to be qualified assessors, just people carrying out assessments) – this could be at your workplace, voluntary organisation or in a community setting.

How is the course assessed?

We will assess you on the theory covered throughout the course and how you apply these skills to planning and carrying out assessments and internal quality assurance.

Approved by: