Level 4 IQA Course Structure

Our Level 4 IQA qualification course consists of two units covering both theoretical knowledge and practical skills. This online course covers a range of topics to teach you the theory and practical skills needed to gain your certification. We will help you build the confidence to plan and carry out internal quality assurance in your workplace. 

Over the two units you will study towards this IQA qualification, you will learn methods for:

  • Planning and monitoring activities
  • Carrying out internal monitoring activities
  • Determining whether assessment methods are safe, fair, valid and reliable
  • Providing assessors with feedback, advice and support
  • Standardising assessments with assessors

Unit 1: Understanding the principles and practices of internally assuring the quality of assessment

The first unit will cover the theory you need to effectively carry out any internal quality assurance process or task. We will also cover a range of topics to help you in the practical part of this course. 

Unit 2: Internally assure the quality of assessment

This unit will take you through a range of practical skills that can be applied in the internal quality assurance process. You will be required to plan and take part in internal quality assurance processes. To successfully complete this unit, your tutor will guide you through the necessary requirements for assessment. 

Level 4 IQA Qualification

By successfully completing this course, you will gain the Level 4 IQA Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF). By earning this IQA qualification you will need to display confidence and ability to conduct quality assurance in the workplace. 

On completion of your IQA course, you will be able to:

  • Explain what an internal quality assurance plan contains
  • Evaluate different techniques for sampling evidence of assessments
  • Explain standardisation requirements
  • Explain procedures surrounding the quality of assessment disputes
  • Understand best practice requirements for internal quality assurance
  • Reflective practice and continuing professional development (CPD) with internal quality assurance

What are the entry requirements for this IQA Course ?

While there are no formal entry requirements for the internal quality assurance training course, we recommend that you have experience or qualifications in your chosen subject area. 

For the practical part of the course, you will need access to assessors (they don’t have to be qualified assessors, just people carrying out assessments) – this could be at your workplace, voluntary organisation or in a community setting. 

Do I need this Level 4 IQA qualification?

This IQA qualification is perfect if you currently work as or want to start working as a qualified internal verifier or internal quality assurer. If you are unsure which course is right for you, learn more about IQA qualifications here.

We open this course to all sectors where the assessment of accredited learning and non-accredited learning is taking place.  

How is the Level 4 IQA course assessed?

You will be continually assessed on the theory and skills taught throughout the course. In the second unit, you will apply practical quality assurance techniques in the workplace.

This course is approved by: