June 21, 2021

What’s the difference between an Assessor and an IQA?

Assessors and IQAs what's the difference?

You might have wondered what the difference is between an Assessor and IQA.

Assessors and Internal Quality Assurers (IQAs) are both involved with learners and qualifications. They both make sure things are done to set standards. They also both keep records and notes of what they do. So you won’t be surprised that there are sometimes occasions where people have difficulty telling the difference.

The fact that Assessors and IQAs often work closely together and can commonly be found in the same office or department. This can give rise to the further misconception that they’re the same when. In fact, they are different! So whenever somebody asks you “What’s the difference between an Assessor and an IQA?” here’s what to tell them:


An Assessor is a person who actually goes and checks candidates’ work, skills or knowledge is up to the standards required. So the sort of things you can expect them to do include:

  • questioning candidates,
  • watching candidates carry out tasks
  • looking at candidates’ work

An Assessor will also provide guidance and feedback to candidates on how well they are doing.

Internal Quality Assurers (IQAs)

An IQA on the other hand is the person who checks the Assessors’ are doing thing correctly. They’ll be involved with:

  • talking to Assessors
  • reviewing the assessment records
  • speaking to candidates
  • meeting with other Assessors

IQAs used to be called “verifiers” or “internal verifiers” so if you hear these words their really just other ways of saying the same thing.

…so think of the process as being part of an ecosystem. Candidates are the most numerous and Assessors are immediately above them. Then the IQAs being on top of the lot, overseeing the whole process.

This means that there’s a different set of qualifications for Assessor and IQAs. Assessors normally take of the Level 3 qualifications which are specifically aimed at the Assessor role. The most popular of these is the Level 3 CAVA Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement, but others include:

Difference in qualifications

  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment
  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement

IQAs usually need a more advanced Level 4 qualification such as Level 4 IQA Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice. This is one of the industry-leading qualifications developed in conjunction with City & Guilds.

If you’re considering a career in Assessing or Internal Quality Assurance, please give us a call on 020 7837 5677 or email us at info@carltontraining.co.uk


Back to Blog